Week ending 1/16/2022

:angry: I negotiated a work-trade in exchange for some tech consulting recently, but it was left a bit open-ended what that tech work might be. So I’ve been discussing the various tech needs of this business with them, and one of the biggest areas that came up is their plans to get a new website created. It turns out they’ve been working with someone who claimed they were putting something together, but it has now been some 6 months since then, they’ve paid out $1000s of dollars, and there was little to show for it. Finally they got a draft of the new design, and were concerned that it needed a lot of work, so they shared it with me for my opinion.

I’ve been a Wordpress admin for years, across numerous sites including my own, and I know how to track down what resources, themes, plugins, etc. are in use pretty easily. So within 15 minutes I discovered the theme the guy they were working with had used, and could see just how incredibly little he had even changed from the defaults of the $50 stock template. It was kind of heartbreaking to hear how much they’d spent on this already, but it clearly didn’t make sense for them to continue working with him. So I advised them to cut ties, and may end up working on it myself or recommending someone else to do the work. For now the most important thing is just for them to stop bleeding money to get virtually nothing in return.

:thinking: This experience, and others less overtly concerning (but still speaking of the difficulty the average business owner has navigating a complex tech landscape) have me thinking lately that there is a real need for a sort of high-level solutions evaluator/recommendation service, affordable (or even free) to small businesses. So I’m starting to think about how I might make that happen…