Week ending 5/8/2022

What’s this, am I back!? Well, at least for this moment I am. Let’s hope I can keep it up, and catch up! Anyway, it’s nice to see you again. :blush:

:smiley: Last week I did something I’ve never done before: I attended the dedication ceremony for a preserve in the Bay Area which my family donated a number of properties to this past year. OK, that’s a mouthful, and hardly something I can expect to have done already. :smile: But it was really interesting…

It’s hard to describe why this was so cool, but it wasn’t so much because we were being “honored” or thanked (though that was nice too). I had spent the several years with these properties trying to sell or develop them, then trying to donate, and finding little success at first. Eventually we made contact with the Western Alliance for Nature who were interested in taking on the properties, and I spent the last year+ trying to make work out the details, with most of that time spent just in communication with one of the founders of the Alliance, and later the Title Company. That’s it, that was largely the extent of my personal contact in this process (2-3 people) and thus my “view” into and scope of it was quite narrow.