Intermittent fasting - why 5:2 works for me

I have been practicing “Intermittent Fasting” (IF) for several years now and in general I find it to be worthwhile and beneficial, even aside from the growing evidence that it may prolong life. As a way to maintain weight, my experience is that it is sustainable and does not seem to negatively impact my health. I’ve tried several different approaches, including partial daily fasting like “16:8”, where you essentially try to fast every day and have as many hours in-between a last and first meal as you can - 16 hours fasting, and an 8 hour eating window. What I’ve found to work best for me is called “5:2”, which is more truly “intermittent” and involves 1 or more very low calorie days (~500 calories) in a given week. Typically it’s 2 days/wk of 500 calories a day, and 5 regular days, hence “5:2”. But you can also do 6:1 or even 4:3. It’s not ideal to have more fast days than that, as far as I’m aware.

Although I do practice IF, I actually eat very normally otherwise. In fact I love food, and I believe my IF practice actually allows me to enjoy it more in certain respects. I go out to eat semi-regularly and really enjoy eating meals with people. I don’t limit myself very much in what I eat on non-fast days, which allows me to more fully enjoy my meals, indulge if and when I want to, etc. And my fasting practice actually makes all of that more sustainable by helping to rebalance calorie intake and keep my weight in check, among other things.

I’ll elaborate more on why this works well for me in the future, but for now here’s a quick outline:

• Fasting takes discipline, which is easier for me to exercise in a sustained way through a single day, than to have to do so for some period of hours every day
  • I love breakfast food, so skipping breakfast (a typical 16:8 practice) is not that appealing to me